Critical Area Maps are Formally Adopted by Talbot & Prince George’s Counties

January 12, 2015 by ESRGC

Through a combined effort from the ESRGC, Critical Area Commission, Maryland’s Department of Natural Resources, and the Department of Information Technology (DoIT) there are now 3 jurisdictions with formally adopted Critical Area Maps. For the map update project the ESRGC uses multiple datasets to digitize the shoreline and edge of tidal wetlands. Once the line work is completed and reviewed, the 1000ft Critical Area boundary is generated. Throughout the process there are several reviews with all stakeholders involved, including public information meetings where citizens can gain more information about the map changes. Talbot County was one of the two pilot counties for the Critical Area remapping project and after years of review and hard work they have officially adopted the maps created by the ESRGC. Critical Area maps for Prince Georges County have also been approved and will be included with all of the finished maps on the Maryland iMap site. The final jurisdiction that has approved their Critical Area maps is the town of Snow Hill, who chose to complete their update before Worcester County. The finalized Critical Area boundary maps can be viewed here: (