Caroline and Queen Anne’s Counties formally adopt their Critical Area maps

November 6, 2017 by ESRGC

The Critical Area Mapping Update project is tasked with providing a seamless and consistent digitally accessible map of Maryland’s Critical Areas. Through a combined effort from Salisbury University, the Eastern Shore Regional GIS Cooperative (ESRGC), the Critical Area Commission (CAC), Maryland’s Department of Natural Resources (DNR), and the Department of Information Technology (DoIT) there are now 6 counties with formally adopted Critical Area Maps. On November 1st, the Critical Area Commission members formally approved the Maps for Caroline and Queen Anne’s counties.   Previous counties that have completed the approval process include; Talbot, Baltimore, Calvert, and Prince Georges.  In addition to these counties, the Towns of Snow Hill and Princess Anne have chosen to update and approve their Critical Area maps before the county.

For the Critical Area Mapping Update project the ESRGC uses multiple datasets to digitize the shoreline and edge of tidal wetlands. Once the line work is completed the 1000ft Critical Area boundary is generated. Throughout the process there are numerous reviews with all stakeholders involved, including public information meetings where citizens can gain more information about potential map changes.

All of the formally adopted counties will be placed on the Maryland iMap site. The finalized Critical Area boundary maps along with other counties in the process can be viewed here: ( You can also use this web map to determine if your property is located in the Critical Area as long as your county is in the “Working draft map” stage.

If you have more questions regarding the mapping project or to better understand the Critical Area you can email Ryan Mello ( or visit the Critical Area Commission’s website (

Critical Area Progress November 2017